Opinion: How I setup my equipment using the line system

When it comes to gear, I like systems versus just a list of items. If we can answer the questions to understand the “why?” of something, the “How?” is made a lot easier by using a system. I’ve promised a few people lately that I would do a Junk On The Bunk article for my line 1 gear, and I will, but I wanted to clarify my thoughts on the matter first. Hopefully you’ll be able to take what is useful from my ideas and system (which is always being tweaked) and incorporate them into a system that will work for you.

There is an idea out there referred to as the “line system”, I’m not really sure where it came from and I honestly don’t remember where I first learned of it. The line system uses three “lines”, first, second and third to organize equipment by function. Depending on the context I’ve seen many different interpretations on what each layer is for and what should be in each layer. The context that mine is built for is that of someone who is on foot in the back country of the high deserts and mountains of the western United States with minimal support and always concerned with defense from different levels of threats. These threats could be in the forms of wild animals, organized or disorganized criminals or an invasive force.

The combination of my regional characteristics (Terrain and Weather, Civilian concerns from METT-TC) as well as the purpose and any anticipated threat (Mission and Enemy from METT-TC) are used to create an overall picture that should give a person a good idea of what they may encounter and this in turn should dictate what they should bring.

If we think about each line as a layer designed to help us accomplish our goals in the field we can start to get an idea of what we are looking for. We need some information to ensure each of these layers is as effective as possible, to include:

  • A stated purpose for what we are trying to accomplish. What are we doing, and why? While it may come as a surprise to those who aren’t familiar with the back country, it’s not an area to just stroll into for fun. You should understand what you are doing and why; there are many hazards and little in the form of help. This isn’t to say you shouldn’t go there at all, just treat it with the respect due anything that can kill you.
  • A complete plan for how to accomplish our goals, from start to finish.
  • What we plan to do if our first plan goes south.

While not a comprehensive list, you can see there’s a lot more thought that needs to go into your equipment selection than just some list on the internet. It’s been said that “the more we know, the less we carry”, and this is indeed true. The goal is to carry the right equipment for the job, no more or no less, and to have the proper amount of contingency/ emergency gear along to handle problems that may arise.

Line 1

Line 1 is the first line we will discuss. It’s primary purpose is to help us survive long enough in order to be rescued in the off chance we are separated from all of our equipment. This means we need to be able to navigate, disinfect water to avoid dehydration, provide shelter and create fire to avoid hypothermia/ hyperthermia, and signal for rescue. These are all items that need to be on us at all times. The best way I visualize it is if you were canoeing down a river and got dumped out and had to swim to shore, losing your pack and other gear in the process, at least you would have these items on you and combined with the knowledge to use them effectively you should be OK. I consider line 1 gear as emergency or contingency equipment, often it’s items I don’t plan on using every trip out but should the worst case scenario happen, it hopefully is enough to help me survive long enough for my rescue plan to be implemented.

That’s one area that I think may get overlooked at times, and that is the idea of a recovery or rescue plan. Establishing a “what to do in case..” plan with those who are expecting you home is a smart idea before heading out. These can get very detailed depending on the situation, but they don’t always have to be. At a minimum they should include:

  • A timeline of when you plan to be back and how long to wait before initiating the plan.
  • The geographic area you’ll be operating in.
  • Your plan in the event of poor weather, getting lost, etc.
  • Your general route
  • Electronic and non-electronic signals you’ll be using during the day and at night

Because of the critical role that line 1 gear fills, it needs to be on us at all times when out in the bush and we need to know how to utilize it properly. We cover majority of this during the Fieldcraft Course, but I’m planning on doing a more in depth class dedicated wholly to the subject.

The 10 C’s

So what items do we actually need to be carrying? If we look at the work others like Dave Canterbury and Mors Kochanski have done, we can see some similarities. Both of these men have done and contributed more to survival and Bushcraft than I could ever hope to, and I would encourage you to learn as much as you can about their methods and techniques. Mors used a system called his “2 kilo kit”, and Dave has a system called the “10 C’s of Survivability.” I tend to have an easier time remembering Dave’s 10 C’s, and since I’ve been to the school a couple times, that’s what I tend to use more often, but they are both very similar and nearly interchangeable.

The 10 C’s are actually prioritized into the first 5 C’s and the second 5 C’s. The first 5 C’s are items that are critical to core temperature regulation and avoiding dehydration and are all items that I try to include in my line 1 gear. If I can get the second 5 C’s in there as well, then that’s just a bonus. I’ll be giving my thoughts on how I have learned to utilize this system to work for me.

The first 5 C’s

  • Combustion device – This is an item that can help us start fires. Fire is a very important survival tool, and having a tool on us that will assist us in starting one is a great asset. While I encourage everyone to learn primitive fire making methods that work well in their region, we don’t want to rely on them if our lives are on the line. A Bic lighter is the AK47 of fire starting tools, but it isn’t perfect either. Butane, the fuel in Bic’s, boils at 31F. This makes the lighter much harder to use at temperatures this cold, which is basically half the year where I live. While keeping it in your pocket is a good idea and will help in the cold, I also carry a ferro rod in the pouch on my Badlands Drifter Sheath. This gives me two excellent tools to use that are on my person at all times, and combined with a small container of tinder like wet fire or similar I can basically guarantee a fire.
  • Container – A container to disinfect water in so you can drink it. Both Dave and Mors advocate some sort of metal container, Dave a metal 1L bottle and Mors a 54 ounce pot. Both are excellent tools and I do carry a 1L stainless Pathfinder bottle every time I go out, but because of their size they have to ride in a bag or pack of some kind. To satisfy the requirement I’ve imposed to have these items on my person I’ve had to improvise. By using 1L plastic bags (Wazoo Survival sells some great bags that are also high temp rated) I still have a container to store and collect water in, and should I also carry some Chlorine Dioxide tabs I’ll be able to disinfect the water without boiling it.
  • Cutting tool – A cutting tool is the next item. These could come in many forms, even a knapped rock edge, but a dedicated belt knife like the Badlands Hunter is the best. Wearing a belt knife ensures it is always with us, and if it’s a properly designed knife it will be very useful to us if we have the skills to put it to use for things like:
    • Processing and carving wood
    • Starting fires
    • Building shelters
    • Making tools
    • Processing game
  • Cover – In this case, cover refers to everything that we can utilize to protect ourselves from wind, rain, and the sun (as opposed to something that stops bullets). At the most basic level it is appropriate clothing selections for the environment and the knowledge of how to utilize natural materials to enhance our cover. As things get more advanced it includes items like tarps, sleeping bags, etc. In my line 1 gear I always include a Mylar space blanket (stored in a pants pocket) in addition to appropriate clothing selections. As a rule of thumb I always carry a thin set of thermal glove liners and a beanie as well.
  • Cordage – cordage is an important tool that makes constructing basic shelters very easy. While it’s possible to make cordage from natural materials, having 20-30 feet of #36 twisted (as opposed to braided) bank line with is a great way to cover your bases. The sheath I designed, the Badlands Drifter, is designed to carry about 15 feet of bank line, and if we replace our boot laces and throw a small hank in a cargo pocket we have enough to cover most needs. I also carry a couple “commando lines” with me as well, which are just a 6’ piece of 550 cord with a loop on one end. These are very handy tools to have for a variety of reasons which I cover in class.

The second 5 C’s

The second 5 C’s are “nice to haves” from the perspective that they help us survive easier with items that are very convenient yet very difficult to replicate off the landscape.

  • Compass: While we can utilize many methods for celestial and solar navigation, a high quality dedicated compass makes this job easier. Whichever model you prefer ensure you keep it tied down (dummy corded to us former grunts) to keep from losing it. I also advise keeping it in a convenient location so that when you are getting tired it isn’t a hassle to pull it out and use it. I also have a watch band compass as a backup.
  • Candeling device: In other words, a light. This could be a headlamp, flashlight, etc. I keep a headlamp in my backpack and a red Photon microlight dummy corded in my pants.
  • Cargo Tape: Become an instant handyman hero and carry some duct tape. Useful for making repairs, as a flame extender for starting fires, as a butterfly bandage, as well as many other uses. Don’t be cheap, use Gorilla tape. I like to take about 30 feet and wrap it around a gift card so that I don’t have to carry a full roll.
  • Cotton cloth: I carry a bandana. We want 100% cotton so that it can be charred if necessary to help start fires. I like the thin nature of the bandana material so water will flow through it easy when using it as a pre-filter. In the summer I like to soak it in water and wrap it around my neck. Will also work as a bandage, and if it is a bright color it can be used for signaling too.
  • Canvas repair needle: a heavy duty sewing needle for making repairs. Believe it or not I’ve seen these get used in almost every class I’ve been in. When combined with the gut from paracord or a strand from our bank line we can sew up tarps, pants, packs, etc. I’ve used mine for picking splinters and popping blisters too.

So that pretty well clarifies my thoughts on line 1. While it is a bit complicated, the nice thing is that for me it doesn’t really change depending on my situation or season, and the more I learn and perfect the skills to utilize the items the more capable I am without adding any weight.

Line 2

In a tactical sense, line 2 is often referred to as our “Fighting load.” It’s all the equipment that helps us fight. Things like a rifle, ammunition, signaling devices, grenades, and all the pouches and gear to carry it all. While that is easy to understand from a doctrinal Infantry point of view, I think with a little creativity it still applies if we aren’t in that paradigm. In the past I’ve referred to line 2 gear as my “Fighting and scouting” load, since I often would include items to help me observe and communicate as well.

I think it really comes down to what you are or trying to accomplish. For instance, in contrast to the Infantry model above, if you’re hunting elk in western Montana, it would be a rifle and its ammunition, binoculars or a range finder, some bear spray or even a pistol as well as the holster and pouches to carry it all. It’s the items that help us project force and defend ourselves. Even in situations where I’m not carrying a rifle, say fishing or hiking for instance, my line 2 is still at a minimum a pistol and a folding knife, with some bear spray thrown in when in bear country.

Line 3

Line 3 is our sustainment load. It’s those items we use to help sustain us while we are in the bush. Whether we are out for a day or a week, we will at some point need cover from the elements, food and water. When I’m planning my line 3 gear for a trip I’m looking at the weather and packing for the worst case scenario. This is where guys can quickly add a lot of extra weight to their packs if they aren’t careful by worrying too much about comfort and convenience while they are packing.

This is where I see guys in class go the “better safe than sorry” route and bring everything but the kitchen sink during classes. Typically this is because they bring more clothes and sleeping gear than they will actually need. This is understandable though, since it takes a lot of experience in an environment to see what you personally need to be comfortable. We all sleep differently, some warmer and some colder. I’m lucky enough to be a cooler sleeper, meaning I sleep comfortably in cooler temperatures and require less insulation to be comfortable.

Just like with my clothing I also like to layer my sleeping gear. A dedicated 0 degree sleeping bag is great when it’s needed, but it’s bulky and heavier than necessary if it’s warmer. There’s also the cost to factor in, high quality sleeping gear is expensive, so you want to pick something you’ll need the most and add to it as necessary. For instance, rather than buy the expensive 0 degree bag, a 40 degree bag is cheaper and lighter, and with the addition of another layer, like an inexpensive poncho liner, it can be used in lower temperatures.

Food, clothing and the pack itself are all items I’ve written on in the past, so please see those articles to see how I fit them into the equation.

Depending on the duration of my time out I like to split my line 3 gear into two layers, 3A and 3B. Line 3A becomes those items necessary for a day of scouting, patrolling or hunting. It’s a day’s loadout, with just enough food and water to get by for 24 hours. Line 3B becomes the base camp gear and the extra items for sustaining past 24 hours.

For those wanting more detail I’m planning on further Junk on the Bunk articles breaking these down further, but to keep from getting too long I’ll keep it at this for now.

2 thoughts on “Opinion: How I setup my equipment using the line system

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started